NDA Govt Formation LIVE — President Murmu Appoints Narendra Modi As PM-Designate, Oath Ceremony On Sunday

    NDA Govt Govt Formation Live Updates: The NDA held its meeting and elected Narendra Modi as the leader of Lok Sabha on Friday. Later, President Murmu appointed him as PM-designate. Follow this space for all the latest updates ahead of much-awaited oath-taking ceremony scheduled to take place on Sunday at 7:15 PM.

    Narendra Modi is all set to take oath as the prime minister for a third consecutive term on Sunday evening as President Droupadi Murmu invited him to form the government on Friday. President appointed Modi as the prime minister-designate yesterday after Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) chief J P Nadda handed her a letter on Modi’s election as the leader of the BJP Parliamentary Party and NDA leaders submitted their letters of support.

    The saffron party won 240 seats in the just-concluded Lok Sabha polls. It undoubtedly fell far short of the halfway mark in the 543-member House, but the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) together won 293 seats.

    “The President, having satisfied herself on the basis of the various letters of support received, that the BJP-led NDA alliance, which is also the largest pre-election alliance, is in a position to command majority support of the newly-constituted 18th Lok Sabha and to form a stable government, appointed Shri Narendra Modi as the Prime Minister of India, exercising powers vested in her under Article 75(1) of the Constitution of India,” as per a press note issued by the Rashtrapati Bhawan.

    Narendra Modi To Take Oath On Sunday At 7:15 PM

    The president will administer the oath of office and secrecy to the prime minister and other members of the Union Council of Ministers at 7:15 pm on Sunday at the Rashtrapati Bhavan, the statement said. The President handed over the letter of appointment to Modi, who called on her at the Rashtrapati Bhavan here on Friday evening.

    “Hon’ble President Smt Droupadi Murmu offered curd to the leader of NDA and PM designate Shri @narendramodi whilst inviting him to form the BJP-led NDA government at the Centre,” BJP said in a post on X along with a photo of Murmu and Modi.

    ALSO READ AT ABP LIVE: A ‘Dahi-Cheeni’ Start For Narendra Modi As He Meets President Murmu Ahead Of Swearing-In Ceremony

    All major allies of the BJP, such as the TDP, JD(U), Shiv Sena and the LJP(R), will be given representation in the government during its swearing-in ceremony, news agency PTI reported citing sources. 

    “There will be at least one Cabinet berth for each of them and more representation can be given to them in the future reshuffle and expansion of the council of ministers,” the PTI report said. The report further mentioned that talks are still on and nothing is finalised yet.

    Earlier, leaders of the BJP-led NDA called on Murmu and handed their letters of support for Modi to her.

    Narendra Modi said he has been appointed as the prime minister-designate by the president. His statement came while addressing reporters in the forecourt of the Rashtrapati Bhavan. 

    “The president has asked me to work as the prime minister-designate and informed me about the oath ceremony,” he said. He also said that he has informed Murmu that they will be comfortable if the event is held on Sunday evening.

    Modi said the Rashtrapati Bhavan will work out the details of the oath-taking ceremony on Sunday, by when he would hand over the list of the Council of Ministers to the president.

    “This 18th Lok Sabha is an important milestone towards fulfilling those dreams when the country will celebrate 100 years of independence in 2047,” he said.

    The 18th Lok Sabha will be a House of new energy, youthful energy, and people have given the NDA government one more chance, Modi added.

    ALSO READ AT ABP LIVE: ‘18th Lok Sabha Is House Of Youthful Energy’: PM-Designate Modi Stakes Claim To Form Govt, Oath Ceremony On June 9

    The NDA delegation that called on Murmu was led by Nadda and included Rajnath Singh, Amit Shah, Ashwini Vaishnaw and C N Manjunath (all from the BJP), TDP chief N Chandrababu Naidu, JD(U) leaders Nitish Kumar, Rajiv Ranjan Singh and Sanjay Jha, Shiv Sena chief Eknath Shinde, JD(S) leader H D Kumaraswamy, LJP(RV) leader Chirag Paswan, HAM(S) leader Jitan Ram Manjhi, Jana Sena leader Pawan Kalyan, NCP leader Ajit Pawar, Apna Dal(S) leader Anupriya Patel, RLD leader Jayant Chaudhary, UPPL leader Joyanta Basumatary, AGP leader Atul Bora, SKM leader Indra Hang Subba, AJSU leaders Sudesh Mahto and Chandra Prakash Choudhary and Ramdas Athawale from the RPI(A).

    Source link

    प्रातिक्रिया दे

    आपका ईमेल पता प्रकाशित नहीं किया जाएगा. आवश्यक फ़ील्ड चिह्नित हैं *